sohpassCheck a battery

The battery in Tesla electric cars, model by model

4 models listed. For each one: the battery versions, the manufacturer warranty, the state of health to expect for its age, and what a failure costs out of warranty.

Tesla battery warranty, model by model

Manufacturer terms recorded for the UK, by year of first registration. Years and mileage apply whichever comes first; below the guaranteed capacity, the pack is repaired or replaced.

ModelFirst registeredDurationMileageGuaranteed capacity
Tesla Model 3since 20198 years120,000 miles70%
Tesla Model S2014 – 20208 yearsunlimitednot stated
since 20218 years150,000 miles70%
Tesla Model X2016 – 20208 yearsunlimitednot stated
since 20218 years150,000 miles70%
Tesla Model Ysince 20228 years120,000 miles70%

For a specific car, the battery checker gives the warranty end date. Compare with every brand.

What to know about Tesla batteries

The catalogue covers 4 Tesla electric models, on sale since 2012. The packs recorded use NMC, NCA or LFP cells, and the difference matters: LFP holds up better over time than nickel, and the gap widens with age.

Battery warranty. The terms recorded for Tesla are 8 years, up to 120,000 to 150,000 miles, with a guaranteed minimum capacity of 70%. These terms depend on the date of first registration, not on the model alone: the checker gives the end date for a specific car.

Cost of a failure. 2 of the 4 models can be repaired module by module rather than by a full replacement, for between €800 and €2,600 depending on the model, whereas a new pack is priced at around €15,000 to €16,500. These are orders of magnitude recorded in France, never quotes.