sohpassCheck a battery

The battery in Nissan electric cars, model by model

6 models listed. For each one: the battery versions, the manufacturer warranty, the state of health to expect for its age, and what a failure costs out of warranty.

Nissan battery warranty, model by model

Manufacturer terms recorded for the UK, by year of first registration. Years and mileage apply whichever comes first; below the guaranteed capacity, the pack is repaired or replaced.

ModelFirst registeredDurationMileageGuaranteed capacity
Nissan Ariyasince 20228 years100,000 milesnot stated
Nissan Leaf2011 – 20155 years60,000 milesnot stated
since 20168 years100,000 milesnot stated
Nissan Leaf (2025)since 20258 years100,000 milesnot stated
Nissan Micrasince 20258 years100,000 milesnot stated
Nissan Townstar EVsince 20228 years100,000 milesnot stated
Nissan e-NV2002018 – 20228 years100,000 milesnot stated

For a specific car, the battery checker gives the warranty end date. Compare with every brand.

What to know about Nissan batteries

The catalogue covers 6 Nissan electric models, on sale since 2010. The packs recorded use NMC or LMO cells, which largely decides how quickly capacity falls.

Battery warranty. The terms recorded for Nissan range from 5 to 8 years, up to 60,000 to 100,000 miles. These terms depend on the date of first registration, not on the model alone: the checker gives the end date for a specific car.

Cost of a failure. 3 of the 6 models can be repaired module by module rather than by a full replacement, for between €400 and €2,200 depending on the model, whereas a new pack is priced at around €9,000 to €14,000. These are orders of magnitude recorded in France, never quotes.

Battery lease. 2 Nissan models were sold with the battery separate from the vehicle for some model years: Leaf, e-NV200. A monthly rental is then added to the price, and it passes on with the car. Only the battery lease agreement settles it.